Anticipating the New Season

facebook_reactionsThe approaching end of winter is simultaneously a nerve-wracking and exciting time. I feel like the new Facebook reactions released this past week do a good job in representing the full range of my beekeeping emotions!

On the Nerve-wracking and potentially “Sad” end of the scale, I wonder: How have the hives over-wintered? Did I leave them enough honey? Were the weather’s swinging temperatures too challenging for the bees? Did they have enough insulation? Were they able to handle any moisture issues? Should I have moved them to another spot?

Bees with winter fondant food supply (from January 2014)

Bees with winter fondant food supply (from January 2014)

On the Exciting and “Love” reaction end of the scale, I think: It will be so exciting to see the eggs that the queen is already laying for the upcoming spring. How many splits will I have the opportunity to make? What will I learn this year that I can do better than I have before? Will there be new treatments to try against mite threats?

No matter which reactions and feelings take over from time to time, I am certainly looking forward to the true beginning of the season when I get to visit the bees and observe their completely fascinating lives in and out of the hives, and I can’t wait to watch the bees bring pollen into the hive, one after another. After this long time away from my regular visits to the hives, I am so happy that it is only a very few weeks until then.

-Karen

Leave a comment